The funk icon’s first album in over a decade pairs him with a stalwart roster of Stones Throw producers.

Steve Arrington is back with his first solo outing in more than a decade.

On Friday, the former frontman of Ohio funk legends, Slave, released Down To The Lowest Term: The Soul Sessions, his second studio album with venerable west coast indie, Stones Throw Records. On his new project, Arrington sheds the analog electronics, pairing himself with the label’s roster of funk faithfuls to create a whole new sound and chapter in an already innovative career. The new album features Arrington’s cartoonishly cool and elastic vocals over productions from Knxwledge, Mndsgn, J. Rocc, Jerry Paper, DJ Harrison, and other Stones Throw adjacent producers wrangled by the label’s chief, Peanut Butter Wolf.

Down To The Lowest Terms follows an appearance on Thundercat‘s latest album, It Is What It Is (alongside Steve Lacy and Childish Gambino on “Black Qualls,”) 2014’s Way Out (80-84,) a collection of essential outtakes from his gilded solo era and Higher, the 2013 collaborative project with Dam-Funk, which marked his Stones Throw debut.

Stream Steve Arrington’s new album, Down To The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions, below and grab your copy on vinyl via Stones Throw today. Scroll on for the album’s full tracklist and production credits. Hold tight for his next transmission.

Down to The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions Tracklist:

1. The Joys Of Love (prod. Mndsgn, Devin Morrison)
2. Make A Difference (prod. DJ Harrison)
3. Soulful I Need That In My Life (prod. Jamma D)
4. Keep Dreamin’ (prod. Shibo)
5. Love Knows (prod. Brian Ellis)
6. My Favorite Swing (prod. Apifera)
7. Good Mood (prod. Jerry Paper)
8. Love Is Gone (prod. Knxwledge)
9. Work On It (prod. Shibo)
10. You’re Not Ready (prod. Gifted & Blessed)
11. Make Ya Say Yie (prod. Knxwledge)
12. All I Wanna Do (prod. J.Rocc)
13. It’s Alright (prod. Benedek)


Related Posts

Fat Joe & Dre Drop Fiery Live Performance Video Of ‘Heaven & Hell"

Jadakiss Unveils ‘Ignatius’ Tracklist Featuring Rick Ross, Pusha T, 2 Chainz & More

Estee Nack Teams With Superior For ‘BALADAS’ Album

$uicideboy$ & Travis Barker Announce "Live Fast Die Whenever" Project

Megan Thee Stallion Declares This Autumn Will Be A "Hot Nerd Fall"

Rakim, Big Daddy Kane & Lil Jon To Perform At 2019 A3C Festival’s "Hip Hop Trailblazers" Series