This yr’s nominees for the subsequent class of the Songwriters Hall of Fame (principally, the Rock Hall for artists whose pen recreation is powerful) have been introduced and as soon as once more historical past could possibly be made. Missy Elliott is the first-ever feminine rapper to be nominated, after Jay-Z simply final yr grew to become the primary rapper ever inducted. Aside from being the brains behind her personal songs, Missy famously wrote for Aaliyah, Whitney Houston, Monica, and too a lot of her R&B protégés to depend, and the way dare you neglect she revamped “Lady Marmalade” for our 2000s ears? Joining her on the poll this yr is none apart from Mariah Carey, nearly all of whose 18 No. 1 hits she wrote or co-wrote herself. (Before you even must ask, sure, in fact, “All I Want for Christmas” is a Mimi Songbook authentic.)

Both Missy and Mariah are thought of performing nominees, together with Chrissie Hynde, Vince Gill, Mike Love, Jimmy Cliff, Jeff Lynne, Cat Stevens, John Prine, Lloyd Price, Tommy James, and the Eurythmics (Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart). Nonperforming nominees are Jack Tempchin, Dean Dillon, Jerry Fuller, Tom T. Hall, Roger Nichols, and Dallas Austin. And then there’s the nominated nonperforming songwriting duos: P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri; Russell Brown and Irwin Levine; Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty; Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore; Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham; and Bobby Hart and Tommy Boyce. Six songwriters or songwriting teams will likely be inducted on June 13, 2019.

Related Posts

Netflix Is Getting in Formation With a Beyoncé Special

Billboard Defends Lil Nas X’s ‘Old Town Road’ Removal From the Country Charts

How Crazy Ex-Girlfriend’s Creators Gave Rebecca Bunch Her Happy Ending

Watch the How High 2 Trailer, Featuring an Extremely Baked Lil Yachty

Hip-Hop Took a Moment of Silence for Nipsey Hussle This Week

Khalid Takes a Stunning Left Turn on His Sophomore Album Free Spirit